Wednesday, March 8, 2017

World's Women

^  I first heard of International Women's Day (Международный женский день) when I was in Russia. There it is an official, non-working holiday (as it is in most Communist and former Communist countries.) It's an official holiday in: Afghanistan, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, China (for women only), Cuba, Georgia, Guinea-Bissau, Eritrea, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macedonia (for women only), Madagascar (for women only), Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Zambia. Of course I believe that women in the US, Canada and around the world deserve to be treated equally in every aspect of society. ^

The countries in red have it as an official holiday. Those in orange have it has a holiday only for women and those in yellow have it as a non-official holiday.

No comments:

Post a Comment